a eusuchian head

lost 22: an eusuchian head http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/File:Batrachotomus_kupferzellensis_2.JPG

tiara patrol on high; outward forms satisfy them successful marriages faithful spouses indulgent parents peppermint thicket western ring-tailed possum he shook my hand like it was a rag doll land deeply folded into mountains new forest: new bird calls, new ground covers spreading, new plants spring up, new droppings of different sizes and shapes, new burrowings, je suis en paix avec le monde je suis en paix avec l’amour waiting…. for snailpress.com to come up shall i be the hero of my own life, copperfield? the dog’s grey eusuchian head, miss usa suspected of bathroom scales too, standing abandoned. no one now will be consulting the age-fogged dial for its little fibs or trembles of error with precisely that peering downward frown. today my wife calls me a ‘pompous old fart’. her words were deliberate and struck at my heart. don’t know whose poem this is and don’t know whose poem this is, not mine, worth repeating a mystical liquid city not in b.c. no not lilac at all its uncertain horizon. night wind’s smoke wildfires city smells petrochemicals carbon sulphur dogshit balsamic nightsweats you see i do not enjoy computer jokes not one bit but i like to know things like how moses made his tea have been told hebrews it lilac butts bagged trash dogbreath seriously now changed my i-pod name to titanic it’s syncing now the cooking oils burnt rubber sewers hot tar little gasps of a million beer openings a hundred trillion sour human breaths lilac lilac lilac how did the dinosaurs die i’ll keep reading my book about anti-gravity cuz i just can’t put it down they cannot must not quote dr. seuss not (lilacs) in the school. not in the hall. not one bit

references: je suis en paix avec le monde je suis en paix avec l’amour, Raphaël Herrerias, songwriter/singer (I am at peace with the world, I am at peace with love)
They cannot, they must not … play on Dr. Seuss, Yertle the Turtle, in The National Post.

The conversation:

From Carol A. Stephen: Posted in comments, (on shrewbots) worth reposting…

I don’t think that poems always have to make sense in the usual way of sense. If a phrase or an image pops and sparkles, I love it. I don’t always have to understand everything in a poem, nor what the writer means. Often I can take my own meaning. It’s when I can’t find the hook that takes me inside the writing, that’s when I have a problem. If the reader finds their own interpretation in a poem, even when unintended by the writer, the poem lives and evolves. to me, that’s part of the poem never being finished. It’s why the poem is no longer the writer’s but now the reader’s. (I suppose I am talking about the common idea of leaving room in the poem for the reader.)
So the discussion referred to above was about emotion in poems at the beginning I think. I believe I had said that perhaps that is a direct result of the tendency for a lot of poets today to play with language and words, riffing off sounds, stringing them together, but they don’t together actually mean something. Without meaning, I the writer will not have emotion in the poem, nor will the reader have an emotional reaction to the poem. The words just stay flat on the page. Not fully 3D if you will.
If the writer hasn’t given a hint of what he/she is trying to achieve, I’m probably lost in my own faulty opinions about it.
So then the question becomes, who is the writer writing for? Him/herself or for the reader? I think the answer to that question evolves over a poet’s life. (If it doesn’t it probably should!) I think we start out writing for ourselves and slowly come to the idea of writing for “audience” because we think we have something to share.
Me:
Strings of odd words (they are words, except maybe loodle…) are there for the simple sound of them. The fun, and the sound. Change of pace, change of thinking. I love the odd words. I agree, they can set back a reader. Love that. There’s no responsibility.  These are my drafts, my playing. Now I’ll crawl into my playpen and sleep.  Roo Borson said a wonderful thing: Understanding means different things to different people, which gives a writer a lot of licence. Good comments Carol, and thank you. Response anyone?

One thought on “a eusuchian head

  1. Well Carol. Music can have an emotional effect without words. Words can potentiate that effect. The sound of poety, even if the those sounds are merely vocables, can have quite an effect on the emotions, and on one’s well-being, postive or negative, if they have a musical effect. Poetry is greatly enhanced when it is written musically, or with a deliberate denial of its own propensity for musicallity. Loved Cy’s comments. Your own poems, Claudia, are getting a bit serious, and long, which is what’s happened to my own latest attempts. Best to keep the poem dancing, however serious, as in western music, back to, and away from the tonic. But love the bit about being unable to put the anti-gravity book down! Grant.

Leave a Reply

